Once the Department for Motor Vehicles (DMV) suspends your driver’s license in Virginia, you will have to satisfy the requirements of suspension if you want your license to be reinstated.
Causes that Result in Licence being Revoked or Suspended
- A driver driving under the influence of the Drugs.
- Someone caught falsifying information the DMV department.
- Violation of the insurance laws
- Found to be related to felonies involving vehicles.
- A failure to adhere to payments of child support or court fines.
- Accumulation of excessive driving points.
The decision for either suspension or revoking of the license depends upon your offense committed. You will be notified by the VA DMV when your driving privileges will be suspended.
Some violations even make it necessary for the offender to enroll in a driver improvement program. The details regarding your suspension can be Found out on the DMV website by entering your:
- Date of birth
- Driver’s license or social security number
What are Demerit Points?
Accumulating an excess of driving record points can also result in license suspension. If you are under 18 years of age, the conditions resulting in suspension are:
- Failing to complete the required driver improvement clinic within 90 days of receiving demerit points. Completion of the clinic will result in immediate reinstation of your license.
- A 90 days suspension following 2nd point on your license.
- One year suspension or until the offender turns 18 (whichever being longer) after you receive your 3rd
The conditions slightly differ if you are above 18 years of age:
- Offenses resulting in a warning letter:
- Accumulation of 8 points in 12 months.
- Accumulation of 12 points in 24 months.
- Offenses resulting in a 90-day suspension:
- Accumulation of 18 points in 12 months.
- Accumulation of 24 points in 24 months.
A probation period of 6 months follows your suspension.
Checking the Status of your Driver’s License
How long the traffic violations and convictions, and revocations will remain on your Virginia driving record, this decision is made analysing the nature of the offenses committed.
Most offenses causing suspension or revocation stay with your driving record at least for a good 11 years. If the felonies were committed while driving a commercial vehicle, the convictions will stay on your driving record permanently.
What to do after a Revoked License Arrest?
When someone gets convicted of driving with a suspended or revoked license for more than three times, this get you declared as a habitual offender. This designation is no longer issued to the drivers in Virginia, but history of being an habitual offender on top of repeat offenses in the present will result in a felony charge driving after having been declared an habitual offender.
If somehow, you have got yourself into the said situation, and get yourself arrested for driving with revoked license, make sure you realize how big of a problem this is. The biggest mistake people make in this situation is not calling a lawyer right away. The situation takes some real defending abilities on part of the lawyer, the more time you allow your attorney to mount a defence, the better are your chances of getting out of the situation.